Layers and Comps and Boards oh my!!

edited October 2012 in MAIN
I have been using Millumin for about three months and I love the simplicity and its ability to work from performing live shows. I have had multiple crashes in circumstances where I am either packing to much media throughout multiple boards/layers/Comps. While I have read to that there is no limit to layers, Im wondering what others have found and if there is an ideal /more efficient approaches to working with these three.

Crashes and bugs are media not accurately playing, frames jumping, app crashes, (noticed specifically when i have some media in playing and workspace preferences are changed)

Thanks cant wait to see how this program grows!

Comments

• Hello @joemagg,

Sorry about the "workspace preferences" crash : I fixed it for the next release (due on monday or tuesday).

About your other problem (media not accurately playing, frames jumping) : did you try with an external and fast harddrive ? what is your configuration (maybe you're reaching the limits) ?

Best. Philippe.
  • So I just performed a show last night with this setup. MBP 2011 / OS 10.8 /128gd SSD for Project Media / Monitoring to 2 X Christie Roadster 1OK via Matrox Triple Head DP …

So I had begun to build the project file this past week. i created about 3 Boardsnand around five compositions for various timing - cue needs. Most all my media was either in PNG w/Alpha / Animation or MP4 for video clips. However I was pulling in about 30 media assets. Some simple animations were around 40 mb and the biggest file hit around 1gb but there was only 1 of those. Thats why my first questions was maybe im using the program wrong, maybe I cant have 5 compositions with 6 layers being pulled in amongst 5 boards each with 6-8 layers.
    Millumin began to crash on our onsite mapping day, and  I thought man this project file is pulling in a ton maybe i will break this up into mutiple projects files and bounce between Modul8 and Millumin.