Performance on 2019 Mac Pro vs other hardware?

I'm trying to determine investment paths on a few things. I've been longing for the 2019 Mac Pro, but at a $15K build, I'm wondering if it'll be better than a 2013 MacPro or a MacMini or MacBook Pro 16" with eGPU. As you can imagine, I'm building out a main/backup and at about $30K, I'm curious if going this route will be smart.

I'm currently pulling in a lot of NDI streams and mixing them with dynamic animations utilizing various motion graphics videos within Millumin.

For perspective, I'm running on a 2013 MacPro, 3.5Ghz 6-core Intel Xeon E5, 32GB RAM, AMD FirePro D500 3GB. Just curious if performance would be far better. I've enjoyed reliability with the 2013 MacPro. Thermal problems often caused the machine to crash during show at times (MacBook included).

Mostly what I'm hoping to hear from the community is what performance they've seen since the 2013 MacPro and if the few members who have actually tested out on a 2019 Mac Pro feel the cost of entry was worth it.

Comments

• Hello @TheMcBe,

Here are a few thoughts.

From the benchmarks, the AMD Radeon Pro W6800X is 3x faster than Fire Pro D500 (that is a modified FirePro W8000). But this is just theory. Anyway, the big advantage of the MacPro 2019 is being upgradable, so you could change the GPU later on if needed.

If we speak about video, Apple advertises about managing up to 6 x 4K displays with the AMD Radeon Pro W5700X or the AMD Radeon Pro W6800X.

Regarding buying the duo version for the GPU : Millumin performs its calculation on only one GPU, then it can spread the result other GPUs. In brief, this allows to have more outputs, but not more power. I hope my explation is clear enough (more about this in this article).