New to Millumin - Recreating a workflow similar to Resolume Advanced Output?

edited August 2022 in MAIN

Dear community,

I'm new to this interesting software and i came from the Resolume world.

I'm trying to port over the workflow of what i do on Resolume and attempting to do the same in Millumin.

May i know, how do i achieve what i did on "Advanced Output" in Resolume Arena on Millumin?

--

I have a graphic, i wish to create multiple slices over it so that i can then adjust the positioning of these slices on the output. The slice is like a window to the content below.

Then on the output, i will then reposition the slices.

Content shown on the slice, i do not wish to scale them on the output transformation. It's a 1:1. I just wish to reposition it on the output transformation after creating the slice.

I was playing with the surface mapping in millumin, but the surfaces will scale and fit the content into the slice when i assign a layer to that, i do not wish to achieve this.

Thank you very much!

Comments

• Hello @RANVIER,

You can use a video-routing to do so : it helps you to separate content (canvas) and output (video-routing).

See this project :

Also, you may want to set the "workspace origin" to "bottom-left" in Preferences. Lastly, you can double-click the anchor (circles, rectangles in the workspaces) to edit the value with numbers.

Let us know if you have some feedback, as we planned to improve video-routing feature.

Best. Philippe

PS : surface are for a very different purpose (videomapping on stage scenery)

• Dear Philippe,

thank you for your kind sharing of the example project file! It is really helpful for me to get a better understanding and to be able to visualise better.

-- -- --

I noticed that 2 canvases were created.

One seems like the "overall composition view" in resolume ,which is called "canvas" in millumin.

The other another canvas called, "preview output"